You are here

Pharmacology and Toxicology

Faculty List

Professors Emeriti 
W.M. Burnham, Ph D 
L. Endrenyi, Ph D 
T. Inaba, Ph D 
D. Kadar, Ph D 
H. Kalant, MD, Ph D  
A. B. Okey, Ph D 
C. Pace-Asciak, Ph D 
B.P. Schimmer, Ph D 
P. Seeman, MD, Ph D 
E.M. Sellers Md. Ph D 
F.A. Sunahara Ph D 

Professor and Chair of the Department 
R.A. Ross, Ph D 

M. Al-Omran, MD 
B. Brands, Ph D 
P. Dorian, MD 
Y. Finkelstein, MD 
S. George, MD 
D.M. Grant, Ph D 
D.R. Hampson, Ph D 
D. Haas, Ph D, DDS 
S. Ito, MD 
S. Kish, Ph D 
K.L. Lanctôt, Ph D 
A.D. Lê, Ph D 
B. Le Foll, MD, Ph D 
R.S. McIntyre, MD 
J.H. Meyer, MD, Ph D 
D. Mueller, MD, Ph D 
J.N. Nobrega, Ph D 
I. Nulman MD 
K.S. Pang, Ph D 
J.D. Parker, MD 
A. Petronis MD Ph D 
B. Pollock, MD 
J. Semple, Ph D 
P. Roy Ph D 
N.H. Shear, MD 
E. Sibille, Ph D 
O.C. Snead III, MD 
R. Tyndale, Ph D 
J.P. Uetrecht, MD, Ph D 
S.Verma, MD, Ph D 
J.J. Warsh, MD, Ph D 
J.W. Wells, Ph D 
P.G. Wells, Pharm D 
A.H.C.Wong, MD, Ph D 
L.T. Young, MD, Ph D 

Associate Professors 
R. Al-awar, Ph D 
A.C Andreazza, Ph D 
M.Beaulieu, Ph D 
S. Belo, MD Ph D 
B.I.Goldstein, MD, Ph D 
J.Kotsopoulos, Ph D 
J. Matthews, Ph D 
J.P. McPherson, Ph D 
J. Mitchell, Ph D 
R. Mizrahi, MD, Ph D 
M. Piquette-Miller, Ph D 
D. Riddick, Ph D 
A. Salahpour, Ph D 
M. Schapira, Ph D 
H.S Sun, MD Ph D 
L. Zawertailo, Ph D 

Associate Professors, Teaching Stream 
M.I. Arnot, Ph D 
C, Woodland, Ph D 

Assistant Professors 
M. Banasr, Ph D P. Boutros, Ph D 
A.J. Lança, MD, Ph D 
Y. Lytvyn, Ph D 
N. Mittmann, Ph D 
G. Rachamin, Ph D 
A.J. Ramsey, Ph D 
L. Salmena, Ph D 
W. Swardfager, Ph D 
Y.Tong, Ph D 
M. Vedadi Ph D 

Assistant Professors, Teaching Stream 
R. Laposa, Ph D

Adjunct Professors 
J.A. Arnot, Ph D 
R.A. Forman, MSc MD 
G. Higgins, Ph D 
P.P Li, Ph D 
M.G. Neuman, Ph D 
J.M. Mayer, Ph D 
A. Nava-Ocampo, MSc MD 
M.J. Shram, Ph D 
C. Toal, Ph D 
J. Wallace, Ph D, MBA, FRSC 
M. Zack Ph D 

Visiting Professor 

A. Hamadanizadeh, Ph D 

Special Lecturer 
G. Kalabis, Ph D 
K. Nylen, Ph D 
B. Setnik, Ph D 




Pharmacology and Toxicology are integrative biological sciences that examine the properties of chemical compounds and their interactions with living systems. They provide the scientific basis for the study of chemical actions in the health sciences, the use of drugs as therapeutic agents or as tools in scientific research, the development and control of pharmaceutical products, and the investigation and control of pollutants and poisons in natural and social environments. The Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology offers four Specialist and two Major undergraduate programs of study that are jointly sponsored by the Faculties of Arts and Science and Medicine. The Specialist programs have the added benefit of providing students with opportunities to learn advanced laboratory techniques and to gain real-world experience through supervised independent research projects and participation in the Professional Experience Year Internship (see below). Students who intend to pursue graduate research and/or careers in pharmacology or toxicology are encouraged to enroll in a Specialist program because of the opportunities for additional experiential learning.

Students wishing to enroll in the Biomedical Toxicology Specialist or in the Pharmacology Specialist will initially apply to the Specialist in Pharmacology and Biomedical Toxicology (ASSPE2340). After completion of first year pre-requisite courses and during the spring of their second year of study (and completion of PCL201H1) students can then choose to apply to the Biomedical Toxicology Specialist or the Pharmacology Specialist. Students wishing to enroll in the Biomedical Toxicology Major or in the Pharmacology Major will initially apply to a general departmental Major (ASMAJ2675) and then after completion of first year pre-requisite courses and during the spring of their second year of study (and completion of PCL201H1) will select the focus for their future studies (Biomedical Toxicology or Pharmacology). Students will follow the calendar year in which they initially enter one of our programs (for students in a Specialist that will be ASSPE2340; for students in a Major that will be ASMAJ2675).  First and second year courses are the same for students within either the Specialist programs (ASSPE2082/​ASSPE2340/​ASSPE2573) or the Major program (ASMAJ2675/ ASMAJ2082/ ASMAJ2573)  within the Department. 

For students interested in our Specialist programs after their first year,  a program ranked as their first choice will be considered before a program for which they have provided a lower ranking.The top-ranked students who meet the program requirements will be sent an invitation to join the program.If a student is not selected, his or her application will be forwarded to the administrator of the program listed as the second choice.This process continues until an invitation is sent or all Specialist programs have been considered.

For further information about registration and courses, consult the A&S Registration Instructions and Timetable, and visit our website at:

Undergraduate Office - General Inquiries:
Medical Sciences Building, Room 4207 (416-978-2728)

Undergraduate Coordinator:
Dr. M. Arnot,
Medical Sciences Building, Room 4219 (416-978-3164)


Regarding Pharmacology and Toxicology Programs

The Professional Experience Year (PEY) internship program is a 12-16 month paid employment placement within pharmaceutical/ biotechnology/chemical companies, university research laboratories, university-affiliated organizations, consulting companies or government research agencies. The PEY takes place between the 3rd and 4th years of undergraduate study and is open to Specialists in Pharmacology, Biomedical Toxicology and Environment and Toxicology who have a cGPA of at least 3.0.  Students who participate in this program agree to return to their SPE program within the Department to complete their 4th year and degree program as enrolled prior. The PEY internship provides an excellent opportunity for real-world experience in drug development, project management, client relations, basic and clinical research, information management and regulatory affairs.

NOTE: Students cannot combine any MAJOR from this program with another MAJOR or SPECIALIST from this program for their degree.